Two Astros Win Gold Glove Awards

On Sunday night, Rawlings announced the 2021 Gold Glove Award winners, and two Houston Astros were the recipients of the award for the first time in their careers. It went to none other than shortstop Carlos Correa and first baseman Yuli Gurriel.

Carlos Correa

The seventh time is the charm for the free-agent shortstop, who will be highly sought after this offseason. Correa has been at the top of his game since coming into the league in 2015. This season, Correa led the league in Defensive WAR, with a 3.0, which was good enough to beat out the other two American League finalists J.P. Crawford of the Seattle Mariners and Andrelton Simmons of the Minnesota Twins. Correa is the first Astros player to win the award at shortstop since Roger Metzger won it in 1973.

Yuli Gurriel

The 2021 season has been a special one for Gurriel. Winning the American League batting title with a .319 batting average, and now he can add a Gold Glove award to his resume. Beating Matt Olson of the Oakland Athletics and Jared Walsh of the Los Angeles Angels, Gurriel becomes the oldest player to win the award at age 37. Gurriel was second in the league this season in defensive runs saved at five. Gurriel joins Jeff Bagwell as the only other Astros first basemen to win the award.

Follow me on Twitter at @ripgrffin3 for more of my content. Be sure to check out my baseball podcast, The Rip Griffin Show. Find wherever you get your podcasts!

Main Image Credit

Embed from Getty Images

About Rip Griffin

Jeff "Rip" Griffin is the founder and managing editor of the Texas Baseball Report. In his spare time, Rip covers the Sugar Land Space Cowboys and Round Rock Express, the Triple-A affiliates of the Houston Astros and Texas Rangers. Rip is also the host of The Texas Baseball Report Podcast. The podcast can be found on all the major podcast platforms. Rip holds a Bachelor of Science in Kinesiology, focusing in Sports Management from the University of Houston - Victoria.

Leave a Reply